Facebook and Linked In

11 Jan

I just spent nearly an hour running down my choices on potential friends/colleagues on Facebook and Linked In, and I’m exhausted!

So much to sift — Will they know my name? Have they ever met me? Did we ever have a substantial conversation?

Have they read my half century comments/reports on dance in the San Francisco area?

Are they being just friendly, or strategic? Do they think of MY motivations?

How frequently should I respond?

Do I need to acknowledge them at all?

What if I wrote a sarcastic review?

What’s the point, especially in this new era of surveillance?

It makes me feel like that incredible Steig cartoon with the caption “Who are all those others?”

Or, equally notable, “My mother loved me but she died.”

Leave a Reply

